Listening Room

09 brahms asq 8i1ukBrahms: String Quartets
Alexander String Quartet
Foghorn Classics FCL2022 (


String Quartet No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 51 No.1 I. Allegro

String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 51 No. 2 IV. Finale. Allegro non assai

Intermezzo in A Major, Op. 118 No. 2 - Andante teneramente

Read the Review

The Alexander String Quartet marks its 40th anniversary as well as the departure of founding violist Paul Yarbrough with Brahms: String Quartets, the final volume in the ensemble’s series of the complete string chamber works of Brahms (Foghorn Classics FCL2022

Yarbrough notes that the ASQ took decades to feel ready to record these quartets, and they certainly get to the heart of the music in powerful performances of strength and depth in the String Quartets in C Minor Op.51 No.1 and in A Minor Op.51 No.2. The String Quartet No.3 in B-flat Major Op.67 – Brahms’ favourite of the three – is bright and playful.

A transcription of Brahms’ Intermezzo in A Major Op.118 No.2 by the ASQ’s first violinist Zakarias Grafilo completes a fine disc.

Pin It

Back to top