Listening Room

06 Bion TsangDvořák & Enescu Cello Concertos
Bion Tsang
Sony Classical S80459C (


Dvořák: Cello Concerto, Finale: Allegro moderato

Enescu: Symphonie Concertante, Majestueux


Read the Review

The following review is an excerpt from Strings Attached (October 2019) which can be read in its entirety here.

Bion Tsang is the excellent soloist in the interesting pairing of Dvořák & Enescu Cello Concertos with Scott Yoo conducting the Royal Scottish National Orchestra (Sony Classical S80459C

There’s no booklet and a complete lack of bio or program notes, but the infrequently heard two-movement Symphonie Concertante Op.8 by Georges Enescu is an appropriate partner for the more famous Dvořák Concerto in B Minor Op.104 – it’s in the same key and was written in 1901, a mere six years after the Dvořák, when Enescu was just 20. Both works are given lovely performances.

Pin It
For a list of writings by this author, click the name above
More from this author:

Back to top