Listening Room

08 Robert PatersonRobert Paterson String Quartets 1-3
Indianapolis Quartet
American Modern Recordings AMR1054 (


String Quartet No. 1 - I. Fast and Sprightly

String Quartet No. 2 - IV. Scherzando

String Quartet No. 3 - III. Auction Chant


Read the Review

If you still believe that contemporary string quartets are always a tough listen then Robert Paterson String Quartets 1-3 in superb performances by the Indianapolis Quartet should change your mind (American Modern Recordings AMR1054

This is clearly music to be enjoyed. String Quartet No.1 includes a “swing” first movement, a country waltz with a middle section called “Andrew Lloyd Webber Disease” and an Energetic Polka. String Quartet No.2 features Rigor Mortis, portraying the barking dog from the comic strip of the same name.

String Quartet No.3, commissioned by the Indianapolis Quartet explores “other voices,” including Tourette’s syndrome in Twist and Shout and an auctioneer and country fiddling in Auction Chant.

It’s imaginative, hugely entertaining and quite brilliant writing, with Paterson always in total control of style and structure.

Pin It
For a list of writings by this author, click the name above
More from this author:

Back to top